CADENCE 2 – MUSIC AND ART

KimDuhaime_NextToTheSea_LR.jpg
Next To The Sea, acrylic, 24″ x 24″  $650

I’m super happy to announce that I have a piece in a show that opens this weekend at the E.K. Voland Gallery, which is located in the Complexe du Canal Lachine in Saint-Henri (in Montreal). The show is called CADENCE 2 – Music & Art Together, featuring 30 paintings that have music as their common element. There will be a lot of different styles and mediums, including some photography, so the show will have a lot of depth as each artist has interpreted the theme in a very different way.

My piece is called Next To The Sea. It’s a whimsical abstract painting that was inspired by the lyrics of the song “House on the Hill” by Passenger. I love the sea in all it’s salty gorgeousness, and I miss it terribly right now, as there’s zero percent chance that I’ll make it to the seashore this summer. Passenger’s song really had me remembering days and nights by the ocean, and that’s what I was channelling as I painted this one.

KimDuhaime_NextToTheSea_Texture_LR.jpg
A few closeups that show the texture in Next To The Sea

The show is on from June 1 to 6. There will be a vernissage on June 1st, and at the same time, the Complexe du Canal Lachine is hosting an open house from 3-8 p.m. where you can visit the studios of many artists in the building. There will be lots of music and activities, so it’s really worth a visit. I went last year and it was a great experience. There are so many incredible artists working there, in so many different mediums… painting, ceramics, crafts, digital art and design and so much more… If I were ever to move back to Montreal, you can be sure I’d have my studio in this building. I’m rather unhappy to say that I won’t be able to attend the open house this year. There are so many studios that I didn’t have time to see them all last year, and I would have loved to make up for that this year.

I’ll be at the gallery on Sunday June 4, from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. if you’d like to come meet me and see the show at the same time. I’d be very happy to meet you there, and if there are any pieces on my website that you’re interested in seeing in person, please let me know so that I can bring them.

